Avantgarde 1965-2013

  • Edited by Nanda Vigo, Marco Meneguzzo
  • Binding Hardcover
  • Size 21 x 21 cm
  • Pages 192
  • Illustrations 100 a colori
  • Language Italian, English, German
  • Year 2014
  • ISBN 9788836627509
  • Price € 40,00
  •   Not available

The Zero Group was formed in 1957 and aimed to return to a “zero point” of art, which would take into account an atomic, spatial and dynamic world. Two young artists, Heinz Mack and Otto Piene, established their own Düsserdolf studio and they used to invite other artists to exhibit for single nights at a time, and from these informal meetings, Zero developed, particularly taking root in Italy. Zero: Avantgarde 1965-2013 offers an introduction to this artistic movement; extended accounts from the movement’s founders and participants accompany archival documentation of their meetings and exhibitions, providing an intimate view of their philosophy and practices.

Texts: Marco Meneguzzo, Nanda Vigo, Heinz Mack, Otto Piene

Artists: Nobuya, Abe Armando, Bernard Aubertin, Hans Bischoffshausen, Agostino Bonalumi, Pol Bury, Enrico Castellani, Dadamaino, Lucio Fontana, Hermann Goepfert, Hans Haacke, Oskar Holweck, Yves Klein, Yayoi Kusama, Walter Leblanc, Francesco Lo Savio, Adolf Luther, HeinzMack, PieroManzoni, Christian Megert, Henk Peeters, Otto Piene, George Rickey, Jan Schoonhoven, Turi Simeti, Jesús Rafael Soto, Paul Talman, Erwin Thorn, Günther Uecker, Jef Verheyen, Nanda Vigo, Hermann de Vries